Champions League

Premier League standings: What to know about Arsenal-Manchester City title race, schedule

Premier League standings: What to know about Arsenal-Manchester City title race, schedule

The race for the English Premier League title is going to down to the final matches of the season, with Arsenal leading Manchester City (who has played one less game) by one points through Saturday.

Arsenal (3-0 win vs. Bournemouth) and Manchester City (5-1 win vs. Wolves) each took care of business Saturday, setting up a dramatic last two weeks with City controlling its own destiny.

Hoping to win a fourth consecutive league title – and sixth in seven seasons – under manager Pep Guardiola, Manchester City is unbeaten in its last 20 Premier League games.

Arsenal won its last league title in 2004 and finished in second place last season, running out of gas near the end of the campaign as Manchester City stormed back to win a third championship in a row.

Here's what to know about the state of the Premier League table and the contenders' remaining schedules:

Premier League standings

(Through Saturday)

  • Arsenal (36 games played): 83 points, +60 goal differential

  • Manchester City (35 GP): 82 points, +54 GD

  • Liverpool (35 GP): 75 points

  • Aston Villa (35 GP): 67 points

  • Tottenham (34 GP): 60 points

  • Newcastle United (35 GP): 56 points

  • Manchester United (34 GP): 54 points

  • Chelsea (34 GP): 51 points

  • Nos. 1-4 qualify for UEFA Champions League, No. 5 for Europa League, No. 6 for Conference League

    Arsenal schedule

    In first place through Saturday, Arsenal has two Premier League games remaining, including a showdown with rival Manchester United next time out:

    • Sunday, May 12 – at Manchester United

    • Sunday, May 19 – vs. Everton

    Manchester City schedule

    In second place through Saturday, Manchester City has three Premier League fixtures left to play:

    • Saturday, May 11 – at Fulham

    • Tuesday, May 14 – at Tottenham

    • Sunday, May 19 – vs. West Ham

    List of Premier League champions

    • 2022-23: Manchester City

    • 2021-22: Manchester City

    • 2020-21: Manchester City

    • 2019-20: Liverpool

    • 2018-19: Manchester City

    • 2017-18: Manchester City

    • 2016-17: Chelsea

    • 2015-16: Leicester City

    • 2014-15: Chelsea

    • 2013-14: Manchester City

    • 2012-13: Manchester United

    • 2011-12: Manchester City

    This article originally appeared on USA TODAY: Premier League standings: Arsenal, Manchester City remaining schedules


    Related Articles

    Leave a Reply

    Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

    Back to top button